About Me

                                                     I am Jess Short and this is a little bit about me! I am 23 year old graduate student and I
                                                     love music and crafting. I like to teach myself projects such as macrame, knitting, scrap-                                                               booking and more! I like to play the ukulele and guitar, although I wouldn't call myself a                                                               professional. I have loved spending time with kids since I was one. Their energy and                                                                     imagination was incredible to watch and I found myself spending most of my free time                                                                 babysitting, acting in children's plays, volunteering at various children's charities and                                                                     more. Once I discovered what child life was, I knew that it was the field I wanted to go                                                                   into. The rest is history! 
                                                     This May, I will be getting married to my fiance, Matt. We got engaged when visiting my                                                             best friends at their home in Washington. Matt and I recently bought our first home in                                                           the   Des Moines area and in December, we adopted a puppy, Fenway who keeps us on                                                                        our toes and active. We love to explore Des Moines and enjoying going on walks, being                                                             outside, and spending time with friends and family.
 
                                                     I am currently a graduate student at Bank Street College of Education, pursuing a                                                                        masters in Child Life. I hope to complete my child life internship in the Fall of 2018 and graduate in May 2019. I completed my undergraduate degree in Human
Services and Family Studies at Grand View University in Des Moines, IA.
Since graduating, I worked in an ABA clinic providing one on one
intervention for children with autism. On weekends, I worked at Ronald
McDonald House Charities of Central Iowa, taking referrals and helping
families get settled in the house. I then worked at ChildServe, as a case
manager for children on the Health and Disability, Brain Injury and
Intellectual Disability waivers. Changes with Medicaid and Managed Care
cause our department to downsize and I am now working at Amanda the
Panda Center for Grief and Loss, where we provide support groups, camps
and other programming for kids and adults who have lost a loved one.
Thank for visiting my portfolio website! Feel free to contact with with any
questions! 
515-681-9814
jshort@bankstreet.edu

© 2015 by Jessica Short Proudly created with Wix.com
 

Contact

(515) 681-9814

jshort@bankstreet.edu

Follow me

LinkedIn

 

Header logo designed by LittleB Works.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now